I’m Just Sayin’

Christmas 2009 alert!  I was at my local Costco warehouse club on Saturday and to my surprise…there was holiday ribbon in a fellow shopper’s cart.  I couldn’t believe it!  I put a little pep in my step and raced to see where on earth she got it.  Turns out…there was an entire aisle section of holiday ribbon right there…in August!  It was over 90 degrees on Saturday(hot)…this does not seem right in the Midwest!  No Santa stuff yet!

I expect to see Christmas decorations and such make their way onto the floors of department stores in late September, but August?  I’m still getting over the shock.   

So here I sit at my local library doing research and thought I’d take a break and search Christmas 2009.  To my further amazement, there’s page after page of information on available ornaments, decorations and recipe books for the 2009 Christmas holiday season.  2009 Krinkles, 2009 Waterford and the list goes on and on.   Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE Christmas, but I’m just sayin’….already!

The fact of the matter is that 2009 Christmas ornaments have been available for a little while now.  Decisions have been made about what will be popular this year, what themes will excite consumers and probably who will ride floats in local parades.  In less than two months, the sparkling lights of the holiday season will start to appear in department stores everywhere.  With only 136 days until Christmas, maybe it’s time to start checking the savings and thinking about making travel plans.  Yeah, I know it’s a little early, but before we know it September and October will have gone by and we’ll be on the countdown to Santa’s big day.  

I’m just sayin’

2 Responses to “I’m Just Sayin’”

  1. eastcoastshopper Says:

    August is a great time to begin promoting Christmas items, the summer is at an end, and if you are a retailer the only other category to really go after at that time of year is “back to school”… heck, there are Christmas stores that are open year round in cities; they must be selling something in order to remain opened.
    August is perfect…Go Costco! Very Wise.


Leave a Reply

